Internship, Fellowship & Career Resources

The following is a list of environmental resources that may help with your internship, scholarship, fellowship, study abroad or career search. We also regularly share environmental opportunities via our Facebook and LinkedIn groups. Thoreau Scholars are strongly encouraged to complete at least one internship in their chosen environmental field, which commonly occurs the summer between junior and senior year of college. Upon approval by the Selection Committee, Thoreau Scholars are eligible for a stipend to support their environmental internships.

Fellowships & Scholarships
AAAS Science & Technology Fellowships – fellowships.aaas.org
Activate Fellowship – activate.org
Aldo Leopold Leadership Fellowship – aldoleopold.org/teach-learn/fellows-program
Churchill Fellowship – chu.cam.ac.uk/admissions/fellows
Delaware Sea Grant Fellowships - deseagrant.org/fellowships
EPA Fellowships & Scholarships – epa.gov/careers/research-fellowships-and-scholarships
Fulbright Scholarships – us.fulbrightonline.org
Grist Fellowship Program – grist.org/fellowships
Marshall Scholarships – marshallscholarship.org
McNair Scholars - mcnairscholars.com
Mellon Fellowships – woodrow.org
NSF Graduate Research Fellowship Program – nsf.gov/funding
NSF Research Experience for Undergraduates Program (REU) – nsf.gov/crssprgm/reu
Rhodes Scholarship – rhodesscholar.org
Rotary Scholarship – rotary.org
Rolex Our World Underwater – owuscholarship.org
Sea Grant Scholarships & Fellowships - seagrant.noaa.gov/Students
Smith Fellowship – smithfellows.org
Switzer Fellowship – switzernetwork.org
Truman Scholarship – truman.gov
Udall Scholarship – udall.gov
Watson Fellowships – watson.foundation
Women Divers Hall of Fame Scholarships - wdhof.org/scholarships/sponsorship

Environmental Research Centers
Bermuda Institute of Ocean Sciences – bios.edu
Central Caribbean Marine Institute – reefresearch.org
Earth System Research Laboratories – esrl.noaa.gov
Environment Massachusetts – environmentmassachusettscenter.org
Harbor Branch – fau.edu/hboi
MARS Network of Marine Stations – marinestations.org
Mote Marine Lab – mote.org
NOAA Research Laboratories – research.noaa.gov/Labs-Programs/oar-labs
Smithsonian Tropical Research Institute – stri.org
USDA Forest Service Research Stations – fs.usda.gov/about-agency/contact-us/research-stations
Woods Hole Oceanographic Institute – whoi.edu

Study Abroad Resources
Global Citizen Year – globalcitizenyear.org
School for Field Studies – fieldstudies.org
School for International Training – sit.edu
Sea Education Association – sea.edu
Working Abroad – workingabroad.com

Additional Environmental Resources, Internships & Job Boards
AAAS Science Careers & Job Search – jobs.sciencecareers.org
Alaska Institute for Justice – akijp.org/policy-and-research
Alternatives for Community and Environment – ace-ej.org
American Prairie – americanprairie.org
American Rivers – americanrivers.org
ANGARI Foundation Job & Internship Board - angari.org
Black Women in Ecology, Evolution & Marine Science - bweems.org
Bridgespan Group’s Nonprofit Job Board – bridgespan.org
Brower Youth Awards, Earth Island Institute – earthisland.org
Building a Better Fieldwork Future – fieldworkfuture.ucsc.edu
Center for Climate, Health & the Global Environment – hsph.harvard.edu/c-change
Center for Coastal Studies Internships - coastalstudies.org/about/internships/
Center for Whole Communities – wholecommunities.org
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention – cdc.gov
Ceres – ceres.org
Children and Nature Network – childrenandnature.org
Climate Tech Incubators/Accelerators - climatetechvc.co/a-running-list-of-climate-accelerators/
Climate Tech VC, Climate & Innovation Newsletter – climatetechvc.substack.com
Climate Tech VC Jobs Board - climate-tech-vc.pallet.com/jobs
Climate Jobs National Resource Center - cjnrc.org
Conservation Jobs & Internship Board - conservation-careers.com
Conservation Job Board - conservationjobboard.com
Conservation International – conservation.org
Conservation Medicine – conservationmedicine.org
Data 4 Black Lives - d4bl.org
Delaware Sea Grant Internships - deseagrant.org/internships
EarthWatch Institute – earthwatch.org
Echoing Green Foundation – echoinggreen.org
Ecological Engineering Group – ecological-engineering.com
EcoHealth Alliance – ecohealthalliance.org
Editing Nature – editingnature.org
11th Hour Racing - 11thhourracing.org
Environmental Defense Fund – edf.org
Environmental Job Manual (2005), Emily Chambliss, Urban Ecology Institute, Boston College
Environmental Justice Foundation – ejfoundation.org
Environmental Leadership Program – elpnet.org
EPA Careers – epa.gov/careers
EPA Student Internships – epa.gov/careers/student-internships
Environmental Voter Project - environmentalvoter.org
The Explorers Club Grants – explorers.org/grants
Goldman Environmental Prize – goldmanprize.org
Green Corps – greencorps.org
GreenWave – greenwave.org
Grist – grist.org
Guide to Resumes for Nonprofit Jobs - resumebuilder.com/student-resume-guide-for-nonprofit-jobs-and-careers/
Gund Institute – uvm.edu/gund
Howard Hughes Medical Institute – hhmi.org/grants
Idealist: Internships, Jobs & Volunteer Search – idealist.org
Indigenous Futures Institute – ifi.ucsd.edu
LEAD – lead.org
Leadership Learning Community – leadershiplearning.org
Madagascar Health and Environmental Research – mahery.org
Marine Biological Laboratory Internships - mbl.edu/education/internships
Monterey Bay Aquarium Internships - montereybayaquarium.org/about-us/internships
Museum of Science – mos.org
NAACP Environmental & Climate Justice – naacp.org/know-issues/environmental-climate-justice
National Black Environmental Justice Network – nbejn.com
National Resources Defense Council – nrdc.org
NSF Education & Training Application (REU, IRES & RET Programs) - nsfetap.org
National Wildlife Federation – nwf.org
Natural Resources Job Board - rwfm.tamu.edu/job-board
The Nature Conservancy – nature.org
New England Aquarium – neaq.org
Newfound Harbor Marine Institute – nhmi.org
Oceana – oceana.org
Ocean Hour Farm - oceanhourfarm.org
Organization for Tropical Studies – tropicalstudies.org
Planetary Health Alliance – planetaryhealthalliance.org
Polyface Farms  – polyfacefarms.com
Public Lab – publiclab.org
Rockwood Leadership Institute – rockwoodleadership.org
Roots & Shoots, The Jane Goodall Institute – rootsandshoots.org
The Safina Center – safinacenter.org
Schmidt Marine Job Board - jobs.schmidtmarine.org/jobs
Sea Grant Community Engaged Internship - seagrant.noaa.gov/Community-Engaged-Internship
Seymour Marine Discovery Center - seymourcenter.ucsc.edu/get-involved/jobs-and-internships/
Shelterwood Collective - shelterwoodcollective.org
Shifting Baselines – shiftingbaselines.org
The Sierra Club – sierraclub.org
Skoll Foundation – skollfoundation.org
Soul Fire Farm – soulfirefarm.org
STEM Opportunities for Undergraduate Students – stemundergrads.science.gov
Sustainable Agriculture & Food Systems Funders – safsf.org
Suzuki Foundation – davidsuzuki.org
Thriving Earth Exchange – thrivingearthexchange.org
Union of Concerned Scientists – ucsusa.org
United Nations Convention on Biological Diversity – cbd.int
United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP) – unep.org
Volunteer Match – volunteermatch.org
Wilderness Information Network – wilderness.net
Wilderness Society – wilderness.org
Wildlife Conservation Society – wcs.org
World Health Organization (WHO) – who.int
World Resources Institute – wri.org
World Wildlife Fund – worldwildlife.org