The Foundation is led by professionals with broad experience in environmental science, education, public health, business, law and university administration. Our Board of Trustees provides top-level direction, and our Scholarship Selection Committee selects top Massachusetts high school students for cultivation as future environmental leaders.


Jennifer P. Galvin
Director of Programs

Jennifer has been with the Henry David Thoreau Foundation since its earliest days, helping transform a mere idea into reality. As the Foundation’s people leader, she heads the Foundation's investments in Thoreau Scholars and faculty grantees to catalyze and support environmental leadership. A scientist by training, Jennifer is determined to drive societal progress and connect people with social and environmental challenges. Her investigations and communications have contributed to a greater understanding of global health, particularly for island and coastal populations. Jennifer holds a Doctor of Science (ScD) in environmental health from the Epidemiology, Exposure and Risk Program at the Harvard School of Public Health, a Master of Public Health (MPH) in environmental epidemiology from Yale University, and a Bachelor of Science (BS) in aquatic biology from Brown University. As founder of reelblue, LLC, Jennifer is also internationally recognized as a filmmaker who connects art with science to inspire social transformation.

Jane M. Nalieri
Executive Administrator

If you call our office, kick off your conversation with “Hello, Jane.” Jane runs the daily operations of our office. After graduating from the Wyndham School and Mount Saint Joseph Academy, she worked at the Northeast Institute of Industrial Technology on Beacon Hill for 22 years. After the school closed, she was asked to join the newly established Henry David Thoreau Foundation in 1998 and has been with the Foundation since. She is a proud native of Winthrop, MA. When out of the office, she can often be found beachcombing for sea glass or cruising around her favorite islands.

Board of Trustees

John R. Galvin
, President
Scott D. Ellis
Jennifer P. Galvin
Philip R. McCabe

Selection Committee

Jennifer P. Galvin
Marilee Jones
David R. Magnussen
Philip R. McCabe
, Alternate