Thoreau Scholar Andrew Hong in the lab

Previous Scholars: 2009

Each year, the Henry David Thoreau Foundation selects 8-10 exceptional Massachusetts high school students who plan to take a deep dive with their environmental studies. Browse this section to see current and previous years' Thoreau Scholars.

Class of 2009
Scholar High School College
Amalia (Aruda) Almada The Winsor School Georgetown University
Rachel Freierman Cambridge Rindge and Latin School Colby College
Spring Greeney Amherst Regional High School Harvard College
Brenna Hughes Middlesex School Dartmouth College
Brendan Mackinson St. John's Preparatory School College of the Holy Cross
Dermott McHugh Milton Academy Dartmouth College
Tara McNerney Amherst Regional High School Dartmouth College
Luojia Shi John C. O'Bryant School of Mathematics and Science University of Michigan
Hannah Specht Mohawk Trail Regional High School Carleton College
Yuxuan Zhuang Brockton High School Harvard College